22 Jan 2008

22Jan08

I send mail from my laptop by a local smarthost-with-auth install of exim4. Recently I got motivated to setup smtp submission port for this, as I got tired of borked hotel wifi intercepting smtp, and was behind a firewall that allowed no smtp out…

It was pretty simple – on my mail server, enable listening on port 587 by putting: ‘daemon_smtp_ports = smtp : 587′ in before the local_interfaces line.

And on my laptop, edit the ‘remote_smtp_smarthost’ stanza to add ‘port = 587′.

Yay to less mail headaches.

No Responses Yet to “22 Jan 2008”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,046 other followers

